Volkswagen Tiguan MK2 Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone test driven or got the new 1.4TSI version? Interested In the SE Nav version

I am a steady driver and boy racer days well behind me and moving from a 1.2 Qashqai I understand lower powered petrol engines on a big car which sometimes needs some extra effort, with the extra power of the Tiguan perhaps slightly less of an issue? online reviews seem to give it a general thumbs up for my type of driving. From the Tiguan I want a comfortable family car, 60-70% of my driving is commuting with rest as family/friend visits and a few longer trips for days out or holidays. I never tow or go off road. Seems an option for me as loss of weight for 4wd and any sunroof may help.

Your thoughts guys??

·
Registered
3,543 Posts
Hi Steve, I came to the Tiguan from a 1.4Tsi golf mk7, and my experience of the 1.4 engine was nothing but exemplorary. It's a very smooth engine with plenty of grunt, which I imagine will be tempered somewhat by the extra weight of the Tiggie.
Mine was teamed with the excellent 7 speed DSG on the golf. Not sure what your options would be on the 1.4 Tiguan, but if they offer the DSG, I'd say you wouldn't go wrong with it, but I'm sure the manual would be equally good.
I would imagine a great number of Tiguans, irrespective of power plant will never/rarely go offroad by choice. Having said that it could be handy when the going gets tough in the winter.
Can't comment on the Qashqai, but the turbocharged VW engines have a great deal of power even in the smaller sizes, so you won't go wanting.
With most of your driving on a commute, I would think you'll also benefit from the better fuel consumption over the larger petrol engine.
I really can't see you being disappointed. :)

Steve

·
Registered
23 Posts
Essjay said: