Volkswagen Tiguan MK2 Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi - newbie here.

Trying to place an order for a new Tiguan in SEL 4Motion DSG spec, but can't seem to get 100% confirmation of what the towing capacity is for the 150ps and 190 ps diesel engines are. The VW brochure says it's 2200-2500kg dependent on specification, but when the salesperson checked the comparison app on their iPad, it had the 150ps coming out as 2500kg and the 190ps as 2200kg. And then today, he has just emailed me saying it's the other way round (like you would expect it to be for a car with more power and torque) so don't know what to believe!! I need the larger towing capacity as it's for horses, so really have to get this one crucial detail right.

Hoping someone on here knows why the confusion, but more importantly what the actual figures are.

Thanks

·
Registered
257 Posts
Found this online:

Swivelling towbar with electric release. With 13-pin connection and 12 electrified poles providing vehicle lighting plus additional power supply for caravan auxiliary battery charger, internal trailer lighting and fridge. Maximum towing weight 2.5 tons 1 depending on engine

1 Maximum towing weight is dependent on vehicle specific equipment. The exact towing weights of individually configured vehicles, if required, must be obtained from the manufacturer before the purchase order is completed.

It really depends on the exact specification of the car as that determines the exact weight of the car.
One things for sure theTiggie is well able to tow a horse box .

·
Registered
1,459 Posts
Hi granco And welcome.....Some months back I raised this question somewhere on this forum for the 190 ps 2.0 ltr Diesel vehicle weights. Some very helpful person on the forum gave me these figures for towing........(Top no) Gross vehicle weight -----2320 kg. (second no) Gross train weight----4825 kg

So... GTW 4825 kg
GVW -2320 kg (minus)