Volkswagen Tiguan MK2 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
627 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK - I am almost a complete newbie with regard to driving an automatic - only ever borrowed step dads car for an hour (Jag XF) and test drove the automatic Tiguan for 15 minutes (loved it) so whilst this may be a stupid question, I'm still going to ask it.

If I was to use the "paddle" to change gears or if the wife or I accidentally click the paddles at some point and it changes gear...does it put the car into a "manual" mode for a length of time / until I click a switch or do something, or does it still remain in automatic mode changing gears still for me.

Thanks in advance and yes - it shows how thick I am ordering a car I wont even know how to drive (as I'm hoping it will drive itself LOL).

:D :D

·
Registered
2016 (MY17) 2.0l Tsi SEL
3,585 Posts
Hi Bhuna, if you are using the paddles, and wish to go back to auto, you hold back the right hand paddle for around a second and it will revert back.
However if the gearbox senses that you've not used the paddles for a while it will go back to auto by itself.

Steve

·
Registered
627 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you.

·
Registered
239 Posts
Hi Bhuna,

Further to Essjay comment there is a safety system in place that if you used the paddles and then failed to change gear the car will automatically change the gear to prevent over revving of the engine. I have not used the paddles that much only a couple of time in sport mode on the autobahn to stretch the engines performance, so they are a nice to have but not something I would miss if they were not there.

·
Registered
627 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·