Volkswagen Tiguan MK2 Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Although this is not strictly a Tiguan question, you guys have been so knowledgeable and helpful over the last few months that I really hope it’s ok to ask these here. I’m very new to car financing, and car ownership at all tbh, so trying to figure all this out. We have a t-cross, two yrs into a four yr finance deal when we ordered a new Tiguan at the start of July (baby number two arrived, quickly obvious that a t-cross was never going to be big enough for us as a family of four!). We agreed to part exchange the car with the dealer, and I negotiated a higher part ex price based on webuyanycar and carwow valuations, as well as what I think is a decent deal on the list price. So my questions are: 1. Are we locked in to part exchanging with the dealer now. Looks like the value of our car might have gone up (what a topsy turvy world we seem to be in right now!)?
and 2. Given the massive wait between agreeing the sale and finally purchasing our new car (dealer has told us we will actually get the car this month but will believe it when I see it given the lies and appalling communication from them so far), we have paid off more of our finance deal and the settlement cost will therefore be lower. So what happens to the extra money (the difference between the part ex price and the settlement cost), does the dealer just get to pocket that as a nice little extra profit, or do we get to use that as additional funds towards our deposit?
Thanks for reading so far and sorry if these are naive questions - it’s been a steep learning curve, and thanks in advance for your help!

·
Registered
236 Posts
My dealer was happy to renegotiate a deal on handover day. Well, a couple of days before actually, but only put pen to paper on handover day. I got £5k more than the original quote! I ordered in March, collected in September.