Volkswagen Tiguan MK2 Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

Newbie here. This is my first VW and I am delighted with my brand new 2017 SE Nav Tiguan.

Question: I am travelling to Europe in a couple of months, do I need headlight deflectors for driving on the RH side of the road? I don't have the lights option in my MFD.

I have spoken with the dealer but am getting mixed answers. Generally, it seems that as the new polos and new golfs don't need them then the new Tiguan doesn't either as they have a flat light beam.

Thanks in advance for any help.

·
Registered
352 Posts

·
Registered
1,459 Posts
Go with what they say then 'Jack51' and if stopped by police show them that email from VW..... How many Dutch, German, French, Belgiums put deflectors on, when they come here !!!!!! I have always made a point of looking at there cars when coming back to Blighty and have not seen one or HGV. :)

·
Registered
352 Posts
Jack51 said:
I am confused now. I have had an email from VW stating that my Tig SE with halogen lights does NOT need headlamp converters as it is a flat beam.
Jack51,
Take your Tig for an evening drive, park it against any wall, fence or garage door (let's say 5 to 10m away) and you'll see that headlight beam is not flat.
Then take a picture and reply to that email as they misinformed you.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Hi,

Thanks for all the replies. Just to be on the safe side I have purchased a set of eurolites headlamp converters. I will also have the print out from VW, but as French police can be a bit of a pain I decided to err on the side of caution and fit some anyway.

Thanks for all of your help and nice to communicate with fellow MK2 Tiguan owners.

·
Registered
352 Posts
Jack51,

Would you be able to check whether headlight beam is properly deflected using Eurolites?