Volkswagen Tiguan MK2 Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Have searched VW documents on line, and on here, and have not been able to find manufacturers recommendations for this car.
I am an Engineer, and have my own ideas on how-to, but given data logging capabilities of new vehicles, I am keen to comply!

Given my forecast delivery time/date I will immediately have to set off on a 400 mile trip. It's a lease car, so if no REQUIREMENT to run in according to a specific schedule, then i will just drive it as I would my other cars.

BTW I really don't believe all the "modern manufacturing is so great, breakin is not needed" BSh1t, nor that a 20k mile service interval is sensible or realistic. I most certainly would not subject my owned cars to such a hard regime.

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
BTW I appreciate that I also need to consider the tyres and brakes too.

Any advice on VW break-in regimes please?

·
Registered
257 Posts
It says 1500kms running in, in the manual for the engine. Not to tow a trailer/caravan during that mileage. It also mentions about engine revs. I'll have to check the manual for the exact description.

·
Registered
935 Posts
Drive it like you stole it, three VW's in our family driven this way from day 1 and no oil usage in any of them and no engine problems either. We ignored the towing advisory as well BTW but it is your motor of course. I honestly don't see what the issue is as all new cars have warranty and get fixed of something goes wrong. We have also had oil analysis done at the recommended intervals and all indications are the service intervals could be extended but I guess VW would not like the loss of service income and it could become a safety issue as well.

·
Registered
1,057 Posts